History of SLCC

What is the Second Life Community Convention?

The goal of the Second Life Community Convention (SLCC) is to bring the many residents of the Second Life community together to network, build friendships and to discuss Second Life in a common forum. Since its inception, SLCC has been organized by the community for the community. All of the organizers and volunteers who plan and staff each year’s convention donate their time, expertise, skills and love of Second Life to create a great experience for attendees.

While we all value our experiences in the virtual world, SLCC allows us to meet each other in person, share meals together, learn from one another, and celebrate the abundant creativity that Second Life makes possible.

In the Beginning…

In the summer of 2005, a group of Second Life residents took a trip to San Francisco for a “real life invasion of Linden Lab” and during the course of the visit, an idea was born to invite more Second Life residents to attend a meet-n-greet at the State of Play III conference in October. Through conversations in the Second Life forums, it became clear that there was wide interest in such a real life meet-up, and the next two months were spent in a flurry of organizing, community meetings, and planning.

Organizing team of the 1st Annual Second Life Community Convention
(Photo credit Jeska D)

The 1st Annual Second Life Community Convention was held on October 8-9, 2005 in tandem with the State of Play III conference at the New York School of Law in New York City. Linden Lab CEO Philip Rosedale gave the keynote dressed as his Second Life avatar, and over 150 residents, Linden Lab employees, and other industry professionals attended the event. The founding resident organizers were Timothy Allen (SL: FlipperPA Peregrine), Jennifer Vatza (SL: Jennyfur Peregrine), Jerry Paffendorf (SL: SNOOPYbrown Zamboni), Laura van Hook (SL: Valadeza Anubis), and Ron Blechner (SL: Hiro Pendragon). Jeska Linden served as a liaison with Linden Lab and helped tremendously with the event.

The Future United Years – 2006 – 2009

Frogg Marlowe, Astrin Few, and Jaycatt Nico play SLCC 2006
(Photo credit John Lester@Flickr)

The 2nd convention took place on August – 18-20, 2006 at the Fort Mason Center in San Francisco, home of Linden Lab. The event sold out with over 500 attendees, and keynote presentations from Mitch Kapor, founder of Lotus Development Corporation and Chairman of the Board of Linden Lab, Linden Lab CEO Philip Rosedale, and CTO of Linden Lab, Cory Ondrejka.

Conference organizers in 2006 included the original group, who had founded the nonprofit organization The Future United, Inc. to run the convention, and the addition of SL residents Donna Meyer (SL: Misty Rhodes), Leo Newball, Jr. (SL: Nexeus Fatale), Nethermind Bliss, and Fizik Baskerville.

Conference gifts from SLCC 2007
(Photo credit rikriel@Flickr)

The 3rd convention was held on August 24-26, 2007 at the Chicago Hilton Hotel. Over 800 residents attended, and the convention featured a new multi-track format , including Business & The Future of the Metaverse, Education, Machinima, and Social & Entertainment programs.

The Future United again organized the convention, with new track leaders joining the team, including SL residents Randy Moss (SL: RC Mars), Nethermind Bliss, Donna Meyer (SL: Misty Rhodes), Madame Maracas, Moo Money, Peter Lokke (SL: Crucial Armitage), Daniel Livingstone (SL: Buddy Sprocket), Jeremy Kemp (SL: Jeremy Kabumpo),and Digi Weaver.

Filthy Fluno creates an original masterpiece live at SLCC 2008.
(Photo credit Daphne Abernathy@Flickr)

The 4th convention was held on September 5-7, 2008 at the Marriott Waterside in Tampa, Florida. Over 450 attendees joined the convention, which included a welcoming introduction to new Linden Lab CEO Mark Kingdon (SL: M Linden) by Philip Rosedale, who was moving on to become the Chairman of the Board of Linden Lab. Other keynote speakers included Metanomics host Robert Bloomfield (SL: Beyers Sellers), Global Kids Director of Online Leadership, Barry Joseph (SL: GlobalKids Bixby), and co-author of Second Life for Dummies, Sarah Robbins (SL: Intellagirl Tulley).

Organizational leadership at The Future United had changed quite a bit from previous years, with Randy Moss (SL: RC Mars) taking a leadership role. Other organizers and track leaders included Leo Newball, Jr. (SL: Nexeus Fatale), Donna Meyer (SL: Misty Rhodes), Peter Lokke (SL: Crucial Armitage), Joyce Bettencourt (SL: Rhiannon Chatnoir), Jonathon Richter (SL: Wainbrave Bernal), Chris Collins (SL: Fleep Tuque), and Jennifer Ragan-Fore (SL: Kittygloom Cassady).

Rosedrop Rust, Juel Resistance, Beth Odets play to the Blarney Stone audience in-world
and to the real life audience in San Francisco at SLCC 2009.
(Photo credit evamoon@Flickr)

The 5th convention returned to San Francisco on August 13-16, 2009 at the Westin St. Francis. With over 400 attendees and a four day multi-track convention, the 2009 convention was headlined by keynote speaker, author, and futurist Ray Kurzweil. Other keynote speakers included Tom Hale, Chief Product Officer of Linden Lab, as well as Linden Lab CEO Mark Kingdon, and Philip Rosedale, Linden Lab Chairman of the Board.

The 2009 convention was led by Leo Newball Jr. (SL: Nexeus Fatale), with returning volunteers Donna Meyer (SL: Misty Rhodes), Peter Lokke (SL: Crucial Armitage), and Joyce Bettencourt (SL: Rhiannon Chatnoir). Track leaders included Kevin Feenan (SL: Phelan Corrimal), Ron Blechner (SL: Hiro Pendragon), Hydra Shaftoe, and many others.

A New Decade Brings New Leadership – 2010 – Present

After many years of organizing the Second Life Community Convention, in early 2010 the remaining directors of The Future United decided it was time to take a rest. AvaCon, Inc., a newly established nonprofit organization created by long time Second Life residents and SLCC volunteers, formed to continue the tradition of a community-driven convention for Second Life residents.

SLCC headed to Boston in 2010
(Photo credit Craig Stevens@Flickr)

The 6th convention was held in Boston, MA on August 13-15, 2010 at the Boston Park Plaza. Over 250 attendees joined keynote speakers Philip Rosedale, John Lester, Doug Thomspon, and a panel of Linden Lab viewer developers for a three day multi-track convention.  Highlights of the convention included community led social events, the Avatar Ball, and a private film screening of the film Life 2.0 with director Jason Spingarn-Koff.

The 2010 convention was led by the AvaCon Executive Board,  Joyce Bettencourt (SL: Rhiannon Chatnoir), Donna Meyer (SL: Misty Rhodes), Peter Lokke (SL: Crucial Armitage), and Chris Collins (SL: Fleep Tuque).  Track leaders included Business & Enterprise, Mary Ellen Gordon (SL: Pebbles Hanya), Education & Research, Kevin Feenan (SL: Phelan Corrimal), Art, Machinima, & Theatre, Gwenette Sinclair (SL: Gwenette Writer), Live Music & Performance, Kathey Fatica (SL: Katydid Something), Government & NonProfit, Mark Dulcey (SL: Shirley Marquez), Health & Support, Janyth Ussery (SL: Saxet Uralia), Communities & Social John Mahon (SL: Ham Rambler), Fashion & Design, Christina Greene (SL: Jesika Contepomi), and Technical & Open Source, Meadhbh Hammrick (SL: Meadhbh Oh) and David Levine (SL: Zha Ewry).

Leave a Comment